Celebrations at Common Ground Cafe

539071_10153157164830317_1086421255_n

Today I celebrate the life of my big sister. This is exciting for two reasons. Firstly, it is her birthday and I don’t know if I have mentioned this before but I absolutely love birthdays. I realise that the more birthdays I have, the less exciting they will become. This is all the more reason to enjoy them while I can. It could also do with the fact that birthdays involve presents and cake, but that goes without saying.

Secondly, I get to look back over the past couple of years and appreciate the role that my sister has played in my life. I especially admire the way she approaches everything she does with such enthusiasm. Whether she is working, playing, travelling or just hanging out, she will always do so with her whole heart.  Some might say that she is my role model. After all, she studied at UCT and I followed her there a few years later. She majored in marketing and then I majored in marketing (okay so not quite yet, but here is hoping).  When asked the question of what I want to do when I graduate I find myself giving a slightly adapted version of my sister’s story. So yes, I guess you could say she is my role model after all.

This year we celebrated her birthday at the Common Ground Cafe in Rondebosch. Overall, the morning was spent drinking coffee. The ladies got to admire the sweet little tea bags delivered to the table in their own special packaging while the men got to complain about the rugby as South Africa took on New Zealand in the rugby championship. This was topped off by some delicious food found on the breakfast menu (still one of my favourite places to enjoy a good breakfast in Cape Town).

Common Ground is a great venue to enjoy a morning breakfast as it gives a great view of the Rondebosch Common, with UCT placed perfectly in the background. It is a very relaxed atmosphere as it is fitted with couches as well as tvs. Personally, I enjoy the atmosphere as it is located away from the general hustle and bustle of the city. It is also very reasonably priced and even a student can enjoy a breakfast at a managable price. If you are a coffee lover (I might have mentioned that I am I fan…) then I would encourage you to check out the cappuccino art. Their designs are always entertaining, and their coffee isn’t half bad either. Every time I have eaten at Common Ground Cafe I have been stuck ordering the same french toast and bacon, (it is simply delicious that I could not help myself). This time I decided to branch out and go for something a little more adventurous.

Here is a look at what we ate…

Eggs benedict. No matter where you are, this is always a good idea.

Salmon filled croissant, for the ladies.

This is perfect if you are looking for something light.

Sun Riser. Bacon, poached eggs and mushrooms.

This is what I ate and it was delicious. Do not be fooled if the picture does not look too appetizing, after all we are not focusing on my photography skills (or lack there of).

I would highly recommend Common Ground Cafe. They create a warm atmosphere and a yummy meal. Also, if you have not yet had the joy of meeting my older sister, I would recommend that too. Happy birthday Lauren, you are great.

Address: 23 Milner Rd,
Cape Town
7701
Phone: 021 686 0154
 
Hours:
Sunday 8:30 am – 2:00 pm, 5:30–8:30 pm
Monday to Friday 7:00 am – 4:00 pm
 
6 thoughts on “Celebrations at Common Ground Cafe

  1. I love that photo of your sister! So, in my opinion…not just a great blogger but photography too! I think those are key factors in marketing (this coming from an (almost) teacher.) And breakie is my favorite, ill definitely have to try a Common ground one soon! Yum!

Leave a Reply

